Kara and Brad

Wedding Date: September 1, 2012

Coordinator: Erin

Kara and Brad’s wedding was unforgettable for me.  They wanted their day to honor not only their love for each other, but those in their family who loved and supported them along the way.  This was a true celebration for all of their loved ones.  Take a look at how she hung photos of past generations on the end of the pews.  It was such a great touch.  I cannot find a better word for their day other than “poetic.”

Flowers made from book pages and pictures of loved ones lined the aisle of the Ohio Village Church

Education is very important to the couple, which may be how they came across our venues at the Ohio Historical Society.  She explained that she was looking for something that fit her vision: “Something out of a Jane Austen novel, perhaps?”  Oh, how I love her for this.

Kara says, “The question I got most after our wedding was, ‘How did you find this place?’ Lots of people have heard of OHS, and lots of people have visited, everyone remembers a grade school field trip, but no one I talked with at the time seemed to know that the church was available for rental.  When I found a picture of the church on the OHS website and saw that it was available for weddings, I knew I wanted to check it out. And our first visit couldn’t have been better – Erin was so helpful and accommodating, answering all of our questions – that we left knowing that OHS was the place for our wedding.”

Thankfully for their Labor Day weekend wedding date, this couple has a love of history and all things vintage.  Every year during that weekend, the Ohio Village hosts the Ohio Cup where vintage baseball teams from around the state come Chevy Get Away Cartogether for a big tournament.  When I told Kara that her wedding would take place during this tournament, to my surprise, she was thrilled!  She explains, “My favorite part of my time at the Ohio Village was when we walked outside to drive away and we saw all of the baseball players from the Vintage Baseball Festival playing out on the fields. That’s one of the great things about OHS – there are so many unique aspects to holding an event there. Who else can say they got married during a vintage baseball festival?”

We actually had another wedding that weekend too, so at least one other couple… but we won’t tell Kara.

But honestly, I think the vintage baseball players enjoyed her wedding just as much as she enjoyed them.  They could barely focus on their games as they stared at her brother’s beautiful ’57 Chevy Bel Air that waited outside of the church.  I remember watching the players clap along with the wedding guests as Kara and Brad made their grand exit.

Kara and Brad

Another of Kara’s favorite moments of the day, she says, was also when she was feeling the biggest butterflies:  “My favorite moment of the day was probably also my most nervous moment: when Erin opened the door to the sanctuary and my dad and I walked in. Just moments before, I had been standing on the stairs waiting to go in to the vestibule to meet my dad, and I had experienced my only moment of mild panic. I thought to myself, ‘I’m getting married. I am really getting married!’ And then I met my dad, and Erin opened the door, and we walked through.  I saw everyone smiling at us, and Brad waiting for me, and I wasn’t nervous anymore.”

After I talked to Kara about her wedding memories, I had to go back into my files and pull out her program.  She and her maid of honor put these together; they are stunning and, quite literally, poetic.  When you open the program, the first thing you read is “Song of the Open Road” by Walt Whitman.  As you read on you find “Either/Or” by Soren Kierkegaard, followed by a beautifully personal “thank you” to her loved ones.

While I remembered the beauty of the program, what I will never forget is the brilliance of the readings:   “The Velveteen Rabbit” by Margery Williams,  “The Third Body” by Robert Bly, and  “The Confirmation” by Edwin Muir.  (Take a minute to look these up. They are worth the read.)  Each one was lyrical and perfect for the couple.  While Kara talked about the unique venue, I was thinking about how unique her entire day was.  They took every chance they could to make their day personal and special.  Their hard work paid off!

And Jane Austen would be proud!

The beautiful Wedding Program

Kara’s Advice to other couples approaching their wedding:

Absolutely, positively, record as much of the event as you can. You don’t realize this because you’re getting ready/taking care of details, but you don’t get to see your guests arrive. You don’t get to see the reaction to your musical choices or to the entry of your attendants. Even if you just set up a camcorder on a tripod in the corner of the church, record your event! You will be so happy you did.

Families Processional: “Someday Some Morning Sometime,” – Wilco

Attendants Processional: “First Day of My Life” – Bright Eyes

Bride Processional: Pachelbel’s Canon in D

Recessional: “Till Kingdom Come” – Coldplay

Take a look at their pictures and tell us what you think!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

